IMC Intuition

Thinking out loud about all things IMC

My Public Relations Defintion in 140 Characters or Less

with 5 comments

First, read the original “fresh as…” blog post by Ronnie Manning of Mynt Public Relations :  #PR140 – Defining Public Relations in 140 Characters or Less.

My 140 Characters:  Telling an organization’s story to convey the essence of who the brand is, where it has been and its future direction.

What are your 140 Characters?

Mynt Public Relations Blog:  http://blog.myntpr.com/

Mynt Public Relations:  http://myntpr.com/

Written by Beth Ryan

January 12, 2011 at 7:45 pm

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. In one of my public relations classes at the University of Oregon, we had to define public relations with two words. It is hard enough to define the field in 140 characters, but the definition we ended up coming up with as a class is that public relations is the work of “influencing behavior.” What do you think about this definition?

    jfneff

    March 7, 2011 at 4:11 am

    • I think it’s very good – but another thought – my attitude has to change before I change behavior; influencing attitude? Then, I must be aware before my attitude changes….increasing awareness? Two words, that’s quite a challendge! I need 4: Awareness. Attitude. Influence. Action Thanks for the post!

      Beth Ryan

      March 7, 2011 at 1:35 pm

  2. I read the blog before reading your 140 character definition, and I really loved the way you captured the essence of PR! There were some great ones in that blog, though. My favorite was probably “Bridging the gap between perception and reality. You can’t tell the “Real Story” without Public Relations” by Kevin Mercuri.

    Jessi Ellerbe

    December 2, 2011 at 1:25 am

  3. […] “My Public Relations Definition in 140 Characters or Less” by Beth Ryan […]

    • I would have to agree with your definition. In my Intro to Public Relations course at Indiana State University we all had to summarize in groups what our definition of PR was. This one is very close to what all of us had. I’ll definitely be following you for more PR related posts!

      lovethymusic9112

      September 16, 2012 at 4:50 pm


Leave a Reply

