IMC Intuition

Thinking out loud about all things IMC

Testing Content-CDC Case Study

with 30 comments

Like most content webmasters, I typically post content or send out emails, then carefully study the resulting analytics, tweaking and making adjustments as time allows.   Analytics are a great source of data on visitors, time on page, etc., however they cannot measure user comprehension or engagement. 

This case study, posted on Slide Share by Colleen Jones, principle at Content Science, is her experience with the re-design of the CDC website.  She provides insight on how her company used testing and client research to assess and improve the level of usability of the CDC website for 4 distinct audiences, not just in terms of locating information, but improving the level of user comprehension and motivation to act on the information. 

These  three key metrics for a technically complex website make a lot of sense;  I was particularly interested in how face-to-face surveys were used for testing and re-testing content.    Face-to-face can be misleading if the sample size is too small, yet the most effective in determining those abstract concepts of comprehension and motivation. 

This is the Slide Share Link to this presentation:  Testing Content: Early, Often, & Well

Colleen has other excellent content design presentations as well, it’s definitely worth a visit to her Slide Share Author page:  http://www.slideshare.net/leenjones

Link to Slide Share:  http://www.slideshare.net/

30 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Its like you read my mind! You appear to understand so much about
    this, such as you wrote the ebook in it or something.
    I believe that you could do with a few p.c. to power the message home a
    little bit, however other than that, this is wonderful blog.

    An excellent read. I’ll definitely be back.

    Tami

    October 8, 2013 at 2:15 am

  2. I do not know if it’s just me or if perhaps everybody
    else experiencing issues with your blog. It appears like some of the written text in your content are running
    off the screen. Can someone else please provide feedback and let me know if this
    is happening to them as well? This may be a issue with my internet browser because I’ve had this happen previously.
    Many thanks

  3. Four times a year for ten years they sent me a sales letter with a promotional pen, personalized with my company name and phone number.
    * delivering information to new and existing clients. The response to various ways depends upon your target group.

  4. Wow, incredible weblog layout! How long have you been running
    a blog for? you made blogging glance easy. The overall glance of your website is wonderful, as well as the
    content material!

    http://agondenli.netfast.org

    November 11, 2013 at 7:38 pm

  5. If some one needs expert view about blogging after that i advise
    him/her to pay a visit this webpage, Keep up the fastidious job.

    iphone sms tracker

    November 12, 2013 at 12:57 pm

  6. I don’t leave many comments, however after browsing a ton of responses
    here Testing Content-CDC Case Study | IMC Intuition.
    I do have some questions for you if you don’t mind. Could it be just me or do a few of these comments come across like they are left by brain dead people?
    😛 And, if you are posting at additional sites, I’d like to follow anything
    fresh you have to post. Would you list of the complete urls
    of your social pages like your Facebook page, twitter
    feed, or linkedin profile?

  7. Szukasz wiadomości na temat Korekta liczników Łódź Świetnie na naszym witrynie odnajdziesz informacje na ten temat.
    Interesuje cię jak cofnąć licznik w samochodzie
    osobowym. Świetnie na naszym blogu znajdziesz takie informacje.Chciałbyś dowiedzieć się czegoś na temat Korekty liczników Łódź.Świetnie na naszym
    portalu uzyskasz informacje dotyczące tematu korekata liczników Łódź.
    Szukasz wiadomości na temat Korekty liczników Łódź.

    Świetnie na naszym witrynie pozyskasz informacje dotyczące tematu
    korekata liczników Łódź. Zapraszamy na naszego bloga.

    Korekty liczników łódź

    November 18, 2013 at 9:10 am

  8. I’m curious to find out what blog platform you’re utilizing?
    I’m experiencing some small security issues with my latest site and I’d like to find something more safe.

    Do you have any recommendations?

    IMR powder

    November 28, 2013 at 8:59 am

    • Sorry to take so long to respond, this is Word Press, sadly any platform that is free can have security issues.

      Beth Ryan

      February 12, 2014 at 5:58 pm

  9. I’m gone to inform my little brother, that he should also
    go to see this website on regular basis to get updated from newest gossip.

    gay sexshop

    December 22, 2013 at 6:38 am

  10. A fascinating discussion is definitely worth comment.
    I do think that you need to write more on this topic, it may
    not be a taboo matter but usually folks don’t discuss such topics.
    To the next! Best wishes!!

  11. Hi, this weekend is pleasant in support of me, since this occasion i am reading this
    wonderful educational piece of writing here
    at my house.

    facebook cover

    January 9, 2014 at 9:19 am

  12. A person necessarily help to make severely articles I might state.
    This is the very first time I frequented your website page and
    to this point? I surprised with the research you made to make this actual submit
    incredible. Fantastic job!

    teak garden furniture uk

    January 11, 2014 at 10:29 pm

  13. I read this article completely on the topic of the comparison
    of most up-to-date and previous technologies,
    it’s remarkable article.

    diet trends

    January 12, 2014 at 3:36 pm

  14. I loved as much as you will receive carried out right here.
    The sketch is tasteful, your authored subject matter stylish.

    nonetheless, you command get got an edginess over that you
    wish be delivering the following. unwell unquestionably come more
    formerly again as exactly the same nearly very often inside case you shield this increase.

    leave a comment

    January 15, 2014 at 9:44 am

  15. This site was… how do you say it? Relevant!! Finally I have found something that helped me.
    Cheers!

  16. Aw, this was a very good post. Finding the time and actual effort
    to create a very good article… but what can I say…
    I put things off a lot and don’t seem to get anything done.

  17. It’s really very difficult in this busy life to listen news on
    TV, therefore I only use the web for that reason, and obtain the most up-to-date news.

    Brain Boost for Seniors

    January 24, 2014 at 6:47 am

  18. Thank you for every other informative site. Where else may just I get that type of information written in such a perfect way?
    I have a mission that I am simply now running on, and I’ve
    been on the glance out for such information.

    Ghost Recon Online Cheat

    February 6, 2014 at 4:49 pm

  19. I think that is among the such a lot vital info for me.
    And i am satisfied reading your article. However should observation on
    few basic issues, The web site style is perfect, the articles is really excellent :
    D. Excellent activity, cheers

    Paleo Diet

    February 11, 2014 at 12:25 am

  20. Hello There. I discovered your weblog the use of msn. This is
    a very neatly written article. I will be sure to bookmark it and return to learn extra of your helpful info.
    Thank you for the post. I’ll definitely comeback.

    sponsor a puppy

    February 17, 2014 at 5:04 pm

  21. It’s the best time to make a few plans for the long run
    and it is time to be happy. I have learn this post and if I may just I wish to recommend you some interesting issues or
    suggestions. Maybe you can write subsequent articles referring
    to this article. I wish to learn more things approximately it!

  22. Hi, Neat post. There is an issue along with your website in internet explorer,
    may check this? IE nonetheless is the marketplace leader and a good section of other people
    will miss your wonderful writing due to this problem.

    Toko Batik Indonesia

    March 2, 2014 at 11:56 am

  23. Hey There. I discovered your weblog the usage of msn. This is an
    extremely well written article. I will make sure to
    bookmark it and come back to learn extra of your useful info.
    Thanks for the post. I will certainly comeback.

  24. What’s up mates, its enormous paragraph about educationand completely defined,
    keep it up all the time.

    Frank Kern

    March 6, 2014 at 1:43 pm

  25. Usually I do not read article on blogs, however I wish to say that this write-up very compelled me to check
    out and do so! Your writing style has been surprised me.
    Thanks, quite great post.

    led industry industry

    March 15, 2014 at 11:35 am

  26. Great goods from you, man. I have understand your stuff previous
    to and you’re just extremely wonderful. I really like what you’ve acquired here,
    certainly like what you’re saying and the way in which you say it.
    You make it enjoyable and you still take care of to keep it wise.
    I can not wait to read much more from you. This is actually a wonderful web site.

    brustvergrößerung op

    March 30, 2014 at 10:34 pm

  27. dr dre beats studio
    A person necessarily assist to make seriously articles I’d state.
    This is the very first time I frequented your web page and to this point?
    I surprised with the analysis you made to create this particular post amazing.
    Excellent task!

    beats by dr dre pro

    April 5, 2014 at 12:04 am

  28. Marvelous, what a webpage it is! This web site presents useful facts
    to us, keep it up.

    Tome 3 : L'assaut

    April 28, 2014 at 1:35 pm

  29. This design is steller! You definitely know how to keep a reader amused.
    Between your wit and your videos, I was almost moved to start my own blog (well, almost…HaHa!) Great job.
    I really enjoyed what you had to say, and more than that, how you presented it.
    Too cool!

    rust cheats

    May 6, 2014 at 2:24 pm


Leave a Reply

